Another 4 and Another Garbage Meal

That’s right folks, another 4 miler in the books.   Crossing off that “goal” list one work out at a time :).  Oh and I also did 25 sit ups and a minute plank, does that count as my strength work out?

Workout of the Day: 4 miles + 25 sit ups and 60 second plank

  • 4 minutes 6.2-6.5, 1 minute at 8, repeated until I hit 4 miles
DSCN1038

Totally old picture but you get the point 🙂

Tonight’s dinner was about as shocking as my working.

Garbage Winter Salad with Chicken

DSCN1633 DSCN1635

Ingredients

  • Arugula and romaine to your desire
  • 5 small heirloom tomatoes
  • 1 small head of broccoli
  • A dozen or so baby carrots
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 1 head of elephant garlic (huge)
  • 2 chicken breasts, seasoned
  • Parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • lemon and sriracha
  • dressing of choice

Directions

  • Chop the greens and put them in a bowl dressed lightly with lemon, sriracha, salt and pepper and parmesan cheese and top with the halved tomatoes
  • Chop the rest of the veggies and roast them in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes with more parmesan and half the clove of elephant garlic
  • Have your husband prepare and grill the chicken
  • Dress and enjoy 🙂

I choose Caesar dressing for my salad tonight and I must say it was a good choice 🙂

Tomorrows dinner is much  more exciting, I promise 🙂 We’re switching it up in the Jara household!

A Weekend On the Slopes

Zach and I had an amazing quick getaway to the mountains this weekend 🙂

It all started Saturday morning.  I got to sleep in until almost 9 o’clock (unheard of), when I was woken up slowly by the husband.  He was nice enough to let me run down to the gym and get a couple miles in before hitting the road.

By 10, we were on our way with the big furball to Winter Park.

DSCN1583 DSCN1586

 

We stopped right before Berthoud Pass at a Starbucks off 70.  I was definitely craving something sweet, but knew I needed substance before hitting the slopes hard.

DSCN1587 DSCN1589 DSCN1588

 

Zach and I split an egg white and spinach wrap (DELISH) and cranberry bliss bar (heavenly).

This was the PERFECT amount of food.  It kept me satisfied but not overly full through out the entire afternoon skiing.

We made it to the mountain a little before 12 and were on the slopes right after noon.

DSCN1601 DSCN1608 DSCN1614DSCN1606

 

It was lightly snowing for the first couple of hours, which of course my powder hound of a husband loved.

We skiied together for the first 2 hours, split for an hour while he went CRAZY and I continued my happy pace :).  Then of course, met up for the last hour of the afternoon.

We skied right up until the lifts closed at 4.    We haven’t skied that late in awhile, but knowing that we were staying IN Winter Park and only had a 3 minute drive to our hotel made it much more convenient.

Zach and I stayed in the Vintage Hotel, where he got a deal as a season pass holder earlier in the year.

DSCN1622 DSCN1623 DSCN1624

 

Our room was large, with two double beds, a fire place, small kitchenette, and bathroom.  We really enjoyed the conveinence of this hotel and will definitely be staying there again.  For 30 dollars the room was pet friendly, and they even gave our boy treats and a puppy sheet!

Zach and I were POOPED so we decided to keep it indoors and went to the tavern in the hotel, 5 Mountain Tavern.

DSCN1628 DSCN1627

 

The tavern wasn’t too busy or full, and we were able to sit right away.  The staff was very friendly and attentive, but not annoying.

I ordered a glass of Pinot Nior and a greek salad with chicken, which I of course loaded with hot sauce.

The salad was huge and Zach’s burger also hit the spot.  I can see many nights spent at this tavern when we’re staying at the hotel :).

Zach and I weren’t long for the world and fast asleep by 10 PM…we’re so cool on ski trips :).

Sunday we woke up by 8 and were packed and ready to hit the mountain for a half day on the slopes.

We checked out by 9 and then walked into Winter Park for breakfast.  We ended up going to Woody’s Mountain Creperie, which is in the middle of downtwon.  I HIGHLY recommend it.  We got a wild berry muffin to start

DSCN1629

 

And then they gave us a free carrot cake muffin because that was actually what Zach had ordered, lol.  We ate most of the top of this one as well, then saved the rest for the trip home.  Both were delish.

We also ordered a breakfast crepe with bacon to split, but ate it before my camera could find it!

The pastries were AMAZING, and the crepe itself was great but we both agreed that the filling was only good, not great.  Next time we may go for a veggie or sweet crepe :).

I washed all the delish grub down with a gingerbread latte, then we hit the slopes for another half day of HARD skiing.

DSC_0501 DSC_0502

 

DSC_0507 DSC_0491

 

Conditions were perfect for me, warmer, sunny, and not crowded.  We worked a lot on groomed skiing, and by 1:30 were POOPED!

We hit some pretty gnarly traffic on the way home, so thanks to my antsy pants, I hit the treadmill for a quick and easy 3 miler in my ski gear as we got home to close off the weekend.

DSC_0524

 

Man I love ski weekends 🙂

Question of the Afternoon:  Do you like skiing?  When was the last “quick” getaway that you were able to go on?

 

Pizza Night andGoals for the Week

Good Morning, Happy Monday and back to normal business here at Chocolate Medals!

DSC_0489 DSC_0490

 

Last night was enjoyed like every Sunday is in the Jara household.  Homemade pizza night!  Last nights included:

Ingredients

  • 1 green pepper
  • 10 baby heirloom tomatoes, halved
  • 3 pieces of bacon
  • 1 large handful of arugula, dressed in lemon and vinegar
  • 1 refrigerated dough from Sprouts
  • Sprinkle of Italian seasoning
  • Mozerella cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 390.
  • Bake the bacon (12-15 minutes)
  • Flour and roll out the dough, brush with olive oil and top with Italian seasoning.  Prebake for 5 minutes
  • Chop up the tomatoes and peppers
  • After crust begins to rise, pull out and add the toppings and cheese, all except arugula
  • Dress the arugula lightly with lemon and vinegar, set to the side
  • Bake for 17 minutes
  • Pull the pizza out, add the arugula to the top
  • Put the pizza back into the oven, heat turned off, for 3-5 minutes to wilt the arugula.
  • ENJOY!

There are a lot of steps, but really homemade pizza is super easy!

I capped off my evening with an amazing PB cup that was SO huge I had to split with Zach (That’s saying something, I don’t share dessert)

DSC_0492DSC_0494

This Morning/This Week

Just like I have started the past couple of weeks, I rested this morning, sleeping in until the blissful hour of 715.    Then I got to slowly wake up and enjoy the smell of oatmeal coming from the kitchen from the hubby!

Goals for the Week

Instead of a strict plan for each day of the week, I am setting GOALS for the week for my workouts.  For this week, they include:

  • 6 runs, 1 longer than 4 miles, and 3 AT LEAST 4 miles
  • 1 intentional yoga session, sporadic yoga as needed
  • 1 strength work out
  • 1 intentional walk
  • 1 day of skiing (Saturday)

With how crazy our schedules are currently, flexability is the name of the game.  While I LOVE to get my work outs done and over with in the AM, it can’t always happen and I need to appreciate that I can work out anytime of day that I’m free!

I’ll be back later today with a more in depth recap of the weekend!

Question of the Morning:  How was your weekend?   I feel so disconnected to everyone!